the pursuit of quality in a fleeting life

kiddie movies make men cry too

So last night, I actually sat/laid down for a movie with my little sister.  Arguing that it was my turn to pick the movie, I quickly obliged and looked through my options in the plastic, highly dusty crate that I use to store my “extensive” DVD collection.  Out of nostalgia and flat-out not being able to remember correctly its plot, I chose the Walt Disney movie, “Bridge to Terabithia.”

NOTE: If you have not seen this movie, then please press the pause button on your web browser and go watch it immediately.  I may/will spoil the climax for you if you do not heed my advice.

Well back to my blog, the movie basically tells of the friendship between two young outsiders who develop a mutual relationship based on the shared interest of imagination and story-telling.  They seek refuge in a sanctuary perched high in a tree and corroborate a childishly clever plot to fill their leisure.  Their fancies are tried and true, until the boy skips out on his best friend to go an art museum and comes home to learn a valuable lesson about death/life.

The story is just so amazing and innocent, that no one can help but shed a tear and reflect on the great relevance of these two children to its audience, young or old.  Personally, the movie makes me realize that life is way too short for the BS that we fill it with. Everyone just needs to stop complaining, stop bitching, and most of all, stop saying that nothing is possible.  If everyone just gave up at any minor obstacle, we would not have the fantastic world we reside in today.

With the wise words of a young girl,

“Close your eyes tightly but keep you mind open, keep it wide open.”

I challenge you, the near nonexistent readers and myself, to just swing across that rope and conquer, achieve, and succeed in the world that we make.  And should you ever forget your sole mission in life, then pop “Bridge to Terabithia” back into the DVD player and have another good crying session.

2 responses

  1. I have never watched this movie but I will now! Thanks for your comment. It is a wonderful part of our human heart with our kids watching something with real lessons and great story line. My favorite has always been “So Dear to my heart.” a real oldy.

    July 16, 2009 at 11:03 am

  2. Angie

    I love the quote you picked. That’s how I’m tryng to live my life over here.

    “Close your eyes tightly but keep you mind open, keep it wide open.”

    Thanks for sharing and reminding me of a great great movie.

    July 21, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Leave a Reply

