the pursuit of quality in a fleeting life

life goes up in smoke

don't tie me down.

[note:  this post is not one to boast, but to give thanks and due attention to its subject.]

Nigel – “Let me know when your whole life goes up in smoke. Means it’s time for a promotion.”

The aforementioned quote is from one of my favorite movies, The Devil Wears Prada.  Not only because it stars the gorgeous Anne Hathaway in gorgeous clothes (well, after being called a fat, smart girl) or revolves around a fashion publication (of which really is an actual fashion publication), but because it is a story about a nobody who eventually metamorphosed into the person who was destined for success.  (Although I would have liked to have seen her eventually become the next queen of Runway, there are lessons to be learned there too.)

Like Andrea Sachs, I have worked restlessly to become the person that is perceived as the beckon of hope, the shining light of a generation, a natural protege of success.  I have spent countless hours (on and off the clock), spent an excessive amount of personal resources (mostly on candy and office supplies), and have navigated through every trial and tribulation to get to where I am today (primarily old women and irate customers).  Fortunately, my work has paid off (if not financially) and I have been presented with many lucrative opportunities that I would have never thought possible at this point in my life (being 23 among many older peers).

I thank all of those who have molded me into becoming the person that I am, those who have helped me and presented opportunities that I would have never thought possible, and finally to everyone who has believed in me.  If there is any overwhelming legacy that I wish to impart, it is that anyone can achieve anything that they set their hearts to.  That means to never give up, not let ANYONE tear you down, know that good things come to those who deserve it (especially myself, just kidding) and graciously accept any opportunity that presents itself.

If you believe in me, I owe you a hug.  Peace.

2 responses

  1. kimee lee

    You are destine for Success my friend! I see the fire and desire in your eyes! It burns! I’m glad I’m around to see all the hard work you have put in – your work, your physique, spiritually life, your family and friends 🙂

    You’re the bestest (i know that is not a word) but I like it!! Keep it up!!! I believe in you.

    kimee

    February 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  2. You have a great blog!
    Best of luck! 😉

    Follow me if you want on http://ptitevalentine-be.blogspot.com/

    x Valentine

    February 6, 2010 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

