the pursuit of quality in a fleeting life

a bucket of does

(courtesy of jakandjil.com)

Does God give you crappy days to make you savor those days that are less crappy?

Does God make you lose your wallet to appreciate those who will help you find it?

Does God make your parents a pain in the butt to make you realize how much they love you?

Does God overcook your toast to make you more attentive of what you are cooking?

It is easy to just blame serendipity, fate, or even luck for the good, bad, and the ugly of each day.  But what if there is so much more meaning and consciousness that is placed into every single act?  (Almost) Everyday, I pray that God shows me to be the person that He wants me to be.  To guide me, to deliver me, to mold me into the son that He desires me to be.  I undoubtedly agree that it has been a very arduous journey, but it continues.

Everyday, I am encountered with the decisions, the predicaments, and the obstacles that I must overcome to be the person that God has destined me to be.  He has given me tribulations, roadkill, and lots of bumps and bruises to last a lifetime, but they will never cease to make me uncomfortable.  I can only hope to find solace in the time that when judgment comes, He will measure my Grace from my sin and bless me with His glory.

I know that I have done and experienced things in my life that have not resulted in the most ideal of circumstances, but it is through those lessons that He always draws me back to the light of his mercy.  Unfortunately, it is through all of the “crap” that I must dig myself out of my worldly self and desire that which is holy and righteous.

In Jesus’ name, I pray…

So give us clean hands
and give us pure hearts
Let us not lift our souls to another
Give us clean hands–Oh God
and give us pure hearts
Let us not lift our souls to another

(Give Us Clean Hands, Chris Tomlin)

Amen.

Leave a Reply

