the pursuit of quality in a fleeting life

personal revelation

Beautiful cathedral in New York. I believe it is St. Peter's (?)

I went to church today.  (Yes, I honestly did.  Calvary Chapel of Costa Mesa for Monday Night Live, to be exact.)  It was brought to our attention as happenstance, that yesterday was Easter Sunday, the day Jesus rose from His grave.  Serendipitously, coincidentally, or even ironically, an event that happened yesterday coincided with a particular event that happened shortly after Jesus was placed in His tomb thousands of years ago.

Matthew 28: 1-2

“After the Sabbath, at dawn on the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to look at the tomb.  There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven and, going to the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it.” – New International Version

It may be so easy to merely pass this significant event off as another “so what” in life, but what if was meant for more?  What if the time of Christ’s return has arrived?

Taking a step back a couple hours from that moment, I did not even know whether or not I was going to be attending this service.  I had put in an exhausting run at the gym, then saw that it was close to 7:20.  I was proceeding to take my usual shower to wash off all the sweat that I had accumulated; however, it just so happened that today, I had forgotten a towel.  Defeated, I merely changed into a dry t-shirt and left the gym.  The clock was now at 7:30 and I was doubting the value of the evening because I would be missing a few minutes of worship.  Nevertheless, while driving down the 73 freeway, I coaxed myself into at least receiving the Message at this evening’s service.  I sang, sat, prayed, and then it hit me.

Throughout my life, God has given me so many chances to simply accept Him and to live the life that He wants me to live.  And just as many times, I have let Him down.  Aside from the message of birth and beginnings that was the main topic of today’s message, this simple bible verse struck me as something that is impending.  Although Christ’s return may be far off and distant in time, it is true that we will never know when He will arrive to collect his people.  And I ask myself, “Will I be one them?”

Tonight’s message was really for me to reevaluate my relationship with my Savior and to strive to be best and most-worthy person when He comes to save His people.  I really feel that when God has something to say to you, He will make His voice heard and it is our duty to listen and obey.  It was a powerful evening of reflection and rededication.

God bless.

For more information about Monday Nights Live at Calvary Chapel in Costa Mesa, click here.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

