the pursuit of quality in a fleeting life

Life’s a b!tch, imagine dying.

(Pray a little more, love a little more.)

I don’t necessarily know what I was thinking when I titled this posting, however, it reminds me that life is gonna suck at times, but not ever enough to end it so suddenly.  It is not my intention to make this blog about personal beliefs and controversy, but I’m going to do it anyways.

Recently, in my “regular” reading of news on the Yahoo! homepage, I read a story about a young adult who had committed suicide because of a malicious act that was perpetrated against him.  I am especially troubled by this story because it was such an intrusion of a basic human right – privacy.  An unassuming roommate cyber-blasts this young man’s intimate interaction all over the internet for all of his peers and the rest of the world to see.  Unable to cope with the humiliation and public reveal of his sexual orientation to those unknown, he decided to tweet his final act “Jumping off the gw bridge sorry.”

When I read this story, I was moved to tears because of the insensitivity of humans to other humans.  As a child, I was taunted for my minimal stature, my delayed change in vocal tone, and my overall appearance; but I felt that if I excelled in other things, academics and otherwise, I was worth something.  However, for this 18 year-old, nothing else mattered or amounted to enough to keep him from jumping off that innocent bridge.  This is such a tragic act of humanity that I am ashamed to share the same breathing space with such monstrous people who would do such vile acts.  If I can plea for anything in this case, I would only wish for two: (1) the harshest and most severe of punishments for his actions (much more than the maximum of 5-years that they would get for invasion of privacy.  I firmly believe they should be charged with involuntary man-slaughter) and (2) for everyone to who hears this story and reads this blog to love a little bit more.

We are on this earth for such a short amount of time and for these things to happen is not only a tragedy for this young man’s family, but for the rest of the world.

For more details on this story: http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1649057/20100930/story.jhtml

Leave a Reply

